About: St Peter's Hospital (Chertsey)

Had reason to visit this department last week. Receptionist was fast, efficient and very helpful, the medical staff were good, and very kind and efficient.

What wasn't so good was the fact that although we were expected , nobody knew who what or why. This meant that we had to wait while the paperwork was found before all the various tests were done,while sitting on the most uncomfortable chairs in the waiting area (watching people come in and be treated and sent on their way home again) 5 hours.45 minutes in those seats!!

We were eventually able to leave with a prescription and follow up appointment.

All in all the treatment was first class but the overall experience of A&E was awful.

We were home before the feeling had returned to our bottoms.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Peter's Hospital

Firstly, thank you for your kind words about our reception and medical staff, which we have passed onto the team. We are really pleased to hear that you felt the care and treatment was so good. However, we are naturally disappointed to hear about the other issues you raise and we are sorry your experience wasn’t better on this occasion. It is difficult to comment without knowing all the facts but we apologise if a breakdown in communication led to the delay you experienced.

We always endeavour to get patients through the department as quickly as possible and we do appreciate that you experienced a long and uncomfortable wait in the waiting room. If you would like to do so then please get in touch with our Lead A&E Nurse, Helen Lawrence, to discuss your experience in more detail. She can be reached directly on 01932 722091.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful