"Total Hip Replacement"

About: Blackpool Victoria Hospital

My hip replacement has not gone as well as I expected. Yes all the main risks were explained, however what was not made clear are the other aspects. I am still in considerable pain some 4 months later (yet to have any pain free time - it is now 24/7, which makes sleeping difficult). The physio offered (home visits, which is good) in my opinion is not sufficient for the likes of me who was very active pre-op despite the pain of osteoarthritis. Sorry but just showing you the exercises and giving a sheet of paper to follow is not sufficient. The surgeon although helpful and answers the questions, still does not quite show true belief or offered any physical examination or further tests, xrays etc. I am due a further appointment soon and perhaps will have to insist on further tests myself. I had heard so many good things about hip replacements that i never expected this. Yet again I feel Blackpool Hospital has failed gain.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Andrew Heath, Lead in Patient Experience & Engagement, Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you taking the time to share your recent experience.

I am sorry to hear that your recent hip replacement has not gone as well as expected and that you are still experiencing pain. I am concerned that you do not feel that you were provided with the support and information that you feel that you should have been. We are always working to improve the services we offer to our patients and this starts with listening to what your experience of care has been like so that we can begin to understand what we can do differently.

I am also concerned that you are still having difficulties. I note that you have a further appointment soon and I hope that you have the opportunity to explore the areas of concern that you have given. If you feel it would be helpful to you could you email a member of my team on patient.relations@bfwhospitals.nhs.uk so that we can get further details about what has happened and assist you in arriving at a satisfactory resolution.

Thank you once again for leaving feedback and taking the time to comment on your recent experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful