"The Breast Unit"

About: St James's University Hospital

Having been lucking enough not to have to frequent hospital often, I was unaware I had to use the self check in service in the entrance but this was soon corrected by the surly and rude receptionist who barked orders at me to check in 'over there'. Not a great first impression when you are already extremely nervous about the outcome of the procedure you are about to have, it makes you feel is this the same frosty treatment I am going to get for the rest of the day. How wrong I was. From approaching the day unit reception, the nurses, the radiographers and the consultant were all fantastic. They were so friendly and put you at ease straight away. They explained everything that was going to happen next and treat you with dignity and respect. I was very wary about having the mamogramas I had heard horror stories but I can honestly say it's not as bad as some would have you think. It was quickly done and most definatley bearable. I had my procedure carried out and the staff ensured I was comfortable throughout. The staff were on their feet all day and never stopped.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Breast Unit. I think the front of house reception staff should take a leaf out of the medical staff's book, who on my departure, was sat yawning widely complaining to their co-worker how tired they were!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Shannon Dunford, PALS Officer, Patient Experience, PALS, Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Dear Lynn046

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us.

It is wonderful to read that you had such a positive experience whilst in our care.

I have passed your kind words onto the Matron for the Breast Unit and have asked that they are shared with the relevant members of staff.

I was very sorry to read of the poor experience you received from the reception staff whilst visiting the clinic. Unfortunately the level of detail you have supplied is insufficient for us to investigate the issues you have raised thoroughly. Therefore I would ask that you contacted the Trusts Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write to us.

With kind regards


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful