"eye surgery"

About: Lincoln County Hospital

very disappinted in service & ended up walking out! Like many people who have left feedback about eye clinic & long waiting times I totally agree, I arrived for my 8.00 appointment yesterday early to beat the early morning traffic, when I got there a nurse started going through my paperwork & said no consent form could be found? They did usual tests for blood pressure etc & was asked to wait in waiting area for the consultant to arrive which they said would be about 8.30. The consultant arrived & greeted gentleman before me & did short examination & then came to me next, they introduced themself & they said which eye are we working on today ? I said it was my right eye as I'd previously been seen by another nurse to whom put big cross in marker pen above my right eye. The consultant then looked quite flustered & said to the nurses where other set of notes were as consent detail were missing as were other elements of my previous eye examinations. The consultant proceeded & asked me to take a seat behind the screen whereby they asked one of the nurses for a ruler & they did a very hasty examination of my eye & jotted down a few details, they also commented on state of filling of my notes & commented on how appalling it was, hthe consultant then asked me to take a seat after telling me I was last on the morning list & apologised for the lost notes, before that they were having course words with the nurses about the location of the lost notes which I found really embarrassing & unprofessional, I can understand their frustration on finding no notes on my part though, the consultant then said it would be about an hour and a half before they would be starting my procedure so myself & my husband decided to go & have a bite to eat in restaurant, we returned in about one hour to find the nurses having a tea break I think & we took a seat, I felt confident I would be next as no one else was waiting at that time which was about 10.00, we waited & waited & one patient arrived back from theatre reassuring me even more that I'd be next, this didn't happen & my husband asked me to go & ask the nurses what was happening? They said they were sorry but the consultant was busy in Theatre with their second patient & by this time it was 11.00, By now I got really upset as. I'd been on night shift the night before & felt I was being fobbed off, it wasn't my fault the notes had been lost, I told my husband we are going, all of a sudden the nurse said would I like to lie down to which I said no I didn't, I just wanted to go home to bed, I was reall y fed up & left hospital in tears, on the way out my husband asked at reception who we complain to & receptionist asked what about & if they could help? My husband mentioned about the lost notes & that we had waited all morning &still no operation or any idea when I would have been going for surgery! The receptionist added ( they always lose notes) & wasn't surprised at all! They then pointed us to pals service where we could get some advice on complaining, we were met by very nice person.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sharon Kidd, Patient Experience and Engagement Manager, Patient Experience, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Sharon Kidd

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for taking the time to post your story on the Patient Opinion website.

Please accept my apologies that, on this occasion, your experience was not a good one, and that we did not meet your expectations. Our aim is to ensure the service we provide is patient-centred, efficient and professional and I am sorry that we appear not to have met those aims on this occasion.

To enable us to look into the issues you have raised can I ask that you contact our PALS team on 01522 707071 or pals@ulh.nhs.uk. They will be able to take all of your details and liaise with the eye clinic to address your issues.

Please feel free to contact me directly at Sharon.kidd@ulh.nhs.uk and I will happy to speak to you about any other concerns you might have.

Once again, please accept my apologies.


Sharon Kidd, Patient Experience Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful