"The most uncaring dental appointment ever"

About: St Richard's Hospital

I have suffered from poor teeth all my life due to my mother having severe calcium deficiency.

My two sisters also have similar problems, also regarding nails etc.

I have recently moved to the area and not yet managed to find a dentist, it is extremely difficult in this area, nobody seems to want new patients.

I had to attend St Richards dental department earlier in the week as I have an abscess.

I have had so many abscesses in my life that I know when I have one.

The dentist on duty seemed annoyed that I had turned up.

They made me feel dirty and ashamed by suggesting all I had was inflamed gums due to poor dental hygiene. The dentist simply did not want to listen to what I was trying to tell them.

I spend a significant amount of time a day trying to keep my teeth in good health but I am unfortunate enough to be pre disposed to plaque build up.

The dentist spent about 4 minutes in cleaning around my teeth and then sent me on my way.

A horrible experience and I still have an abscess with no idea of where I can now go to find someone to help me.

I bet the dentist that saw me has never had a tooth abscess in their life because if they had they would know that a patient knows the difference between an abscess and inflamed gums!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Richard's Hospital

Thank you for your comments with regard to your visit to the dental service, which is held at St Richard's Hospital, but is actually run by Sussex Community NHS Trust.

However, we are sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience, and if you would like your concerns investigated further, you should contact them on 01273 696011 or write to them at sussex Community NHS Trust, Brighton General Hospital, Elm Grove, Brighton, BN2 3EW, with your full name and contact details.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful