About: Royal Free Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

A few weeks ago I attended Othopeadic Dept for my appointment for long standing kneepain.

After considerable wait, I was seen by a Student and I gave her the information she desired. She left me saying she would convey to Consultant who, after a few minutes, barged into the consulting room, and told me "we can offer you knee replacement. If you do not want the same then take Glucosamine tablets".

I was astonished to see that Consultant did NOT carry out any physical examination of me or my knee, he did not order any x ray or MRI (I am in my 70s). And when I said would it not be possible to see the condition of the knee and if possible offer drainage of the "rubbish" as was done 7 yrs ago.

And I was discharged (without any physical examination either by the student or by the Consultant (whom I had gone to see), and had only one agenda, knee replacement. No alternative considered to reduce costs/avoid surgery (I am single and live alone and have heart and breathing problems)..

Is this professional approach from a Consultant? Is this the new NHS? I could have fed the information I gave to student into a computer who would have given me more than one option to manage knee pain.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Digital Communications, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust

Hi Adjit

Thanks for getting in touch and we're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience. In order for us to look into this further, we would be grateful if you could get in touch with us directly by emailing rf.communications@nhs.net so that we can investigate and get back to you.

Thank you.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Royal Free Hospital

Sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with your care. Please get in touch with our patient advice and liaison team on 020 7472 6446 or 020 7472 6447, who will be happy to help you. More info here: https://www.royalfree.nhs.uk/contact-us/patient-advice-and-liaison-service-pals/

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Adjit (the patient)

Many thanks. The matter is being looked into, so I understand.

Recently read