"A visit to Derwnt House"

About: Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

I went to an"outpatients" clinic @ Derwent house for a consultation as I have a problem with my circulation. I was shuffled from room to room, it was like a cattle market! My letter said that I was to see a certain consultant, I only saw one of their registrars who was rude patronising abrupt and unhelpful. I never got to see the consultant. Like Christmas the Dr was always going to come and see me..

I still haven't heard about whether I am to have a angioplasty, and it has been almost a month since my consultation. I telephoned the department and got the consultant who too was rude, abrupt and patronising and sounded as if they couldn't be bothered with my case. The consultant gave no indication of the time when I would be contacted and said in a unpleasantly way that I would be contacted. then rudely hung up on me

Perhaps these Drs should realise that we pay their salaries and are customers and that there is a time limit set by the NHS for these cases.

The whole experience was appalling and showed the worst of the NHS and I am considering contacting the health authority about it.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear Anonymous

I apologise that you have had such a difficult experience and would like you to extend me some time to investigate this further with those involved so that I may offer you a more concise response. I would be grateful if you would consider sending me your patient details or contacting our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALs) on 01202 704886 or pals@rbch.nhs.uk . One reason is you mention both the cardiology team and vascular team because you stated an angiogram and Vascular.

Please make contact.

Regards Sue Mellor Head of Patient Engagement Sue.mellor@rbch.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful