"ward two is shocking"

About: Wansbeck Hospital

Not allowed to go into too much detail as we will be officially complaining about my dad's treatment. Suffice to say, elderly patients shout be treated with respect and dignity, as should their carers. This was not the case while my Dad was on this ward. Some of the staff on this ward should perhaps be offered dementia training, as they clearly have little idea about how to treat people with this condition. So pleased my Dad is now out of that place.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wansbeck Hospital

Dear Sir / Madam,

I am so sorry that you have had reason to complain about your father’s care. It sounds like we need to learn a lot more about what went wrong and the opportunities we failed to take to promote your Dad’s dignity.

It would be helpful if you could work with us on this.

We do have an excellent training programme in place to support improved care and understanding for people with dementia – we can’t always identify the staff that would benefit the most from this unless people like you take the time to help us see when we’re not getting things right.

I am very sorry that your experience of ward 2 was such a poor one – please do get in touch (annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk) to help us look into matters for you. None of this affects your right to make a formal complaint should you wish to.

With all best wishes, Annie

Annie Laverty – director of patient experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful