"Terrible Maternity Treatment."

About: Hillingdon Hospital

Since my very first appointment at Hillingdon Hospital with regards to my pregnancy it has been a disaster, as a first time mum to be I have been treated like a fool, when I have been experiencing complications with my health and pregnancy I have been little more than brushed aside and given useless information by staff that are no qualified to give it. I have had less than half of the appointments that I should have had throughout these past 39 weeks and when it came to arranging a midwife for me, I have never had one and the hospital have failed to arrange one for me. The staff make you feel as if you are a nuisance for asking a question or saying you feel unwell, and Im made to feel like it's my fault for them not doing their job properly. I have broken down in tears several times due to the bad treatment I've received whilst in the hospital, I think anyone considering Hillingdon Hospital when planning the delivery of their baby should reconsider. I was told I need an induction as I have some complications but was then told I will have to wait as a backlog of inductions has built up and there is not enough beds or staff. Mothers have also been giving birth in the Triage as delivery suites and beds have been so poorly available and I have witnessed this myself more than twice. The toilets are very unhygienic and the last time I was at the hospital (today) there was only one midwife available to see to all of the patients on the entire ward leading to a poor service again and long long waiting times.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Hillingdon Hospital

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you have had such a negative experience in the Accident and Emergency department. If you are able to do so perhaps you could call Noreen Rice, Emergency Care Services Manager on 01895279324 to discuss your concerns in more detail as it is unclear why you were not seen in maternity. Once again we sincerely apologise for the distress these events have clearly caused you

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful