"My partners father was in there ..."

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

(as a relative),

What I liked

My partners father was in there in May2008.

He went in to get his angina checked.

After 5 days,I recieved a phone call,as I was down as a contact number.

His dad was distressed(not like him to make a fuss),was told his ob's where then ok!

So there must have been some concern, for them to ring.

I asked if we was needed to go down.

No, hes ok NOW.

I contacted my partner at work,he phoned with same reply, after asking 3 times, if we should go down.

2 hrs later, we phoned back to be told a Doctor was with him,the staff would phone back within 1 hr.

Yes they phoned, to say come down, but don't rush!

Well, we DID rush,only to find he was dead!!!!!!!!!!

Whilst the outcome may have been the same,we feel robbed that we could have been with him when he went.

Recently visited an 88 yrs old lady, she uses incontinence pads all the tiime.

I asked at the desk, if they would provide these.

The day after, no pads.

Asked again.

A nurse came along with 1 in her hand, raised in the air.

Here is your pad in a loud voice, in front of visitors.

She may be 88, but is fully aware, & didn't need all & sundry, to know she used these.

No discretion,no tact, what happened to dignity in old age!

Please don't give your standard answer, to phone, I know I'm wasting my breath.

I made a complaint once, the nurse blatantly lied,so I know it goes in 1 ear & out of the other.

I have been in numerous times, could write a book,on how to treat people, basic conditions there,this is all PR, I would do anything to avoid going there again.

What do you do when i'ts your local hospital,you go in as emergency, can you ask the ambulance people to go to a different hospital, doubt it.

My family now go to Chorley, to avoid your place!

What could be improved

Attitude,basic conditions, like bed pans left in toilets for hrs, placed on toilets, that patients want to use.

Ask a nurse to move it,she puts it under towel rail.

These are there waiting for testing!

Anything else?

Think thats enough for time being!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

It is very worrying indeed to hear of your experiences and your views. We have many satisfied and indeed enthusiastic patients and are very sorry that you are not among them. While you say that you have not been listened to in the past, we would urge you to contact Maria Sinfield, Deputy Director of Nursing, via the hospital switchboard 01204 390390 to see how we can take this forward and make amends.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful