"Exremely poor care"

About: Southmead Hospital

Shambolic organisation. Not enough staff employed on a Saturday morning in the patient check-in area. Unsafe environment, with mentally ill and homeless people and drug addicts lunging at our children in the foyer. Huge amounts of public money squandered on design and art work, but not on clinical care. I was given an appointment at Gate 26 on a Saturday morning and was then told on arrival that that department was closed on a Saturday morning. Eventuallly told no beds were available and sent away in considerable pain and with severe infection.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Landrover – I am sorry your families experience of Southmead hospital was so poor. Please be assured that if there was nay concern for your safety you would have been admitted to our assessment unit while a bed was found. It is often the case that although painful, some conditions are best managed in the primary care setting as acute beds are always at a premium due to the continuing pressures across the whole NHS. I do apologise however if you were not provided with pain relief, r given appropriate information on how to obtain this.

Please be assured that all the artworks on display are part of a programme to support the arts and do impact on the hospitals funding, or its ability to care for the community it serves.

Steve Sykes

Advice and Complaints Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful