"Appalling Hospital!"

About: North Tyneside General Hospital

I went to visit my dad who is dying but could only visit at a certain time, about 10 minutes early and was told I couldn't see him yet ( I traveled a long way) and told to wait in the day room passing my dad on the way with him saying "I'am here" to be told we can't see you yet. He was gutted he is a very proud private man. My dad later on who can hardly swallow was asked about food for the next day he can hardly chew either was offered Chunky chicken and veg soup,Salad, cheese and biscuits and Mac and cheese and fruit juice he said he could only do the fruit juice. I asked surely he could have pureed soup or something like that as he can barely swallow to be told no. My dad worked hard all his life well past retirement age never claimed a penny off the state paid his way in life his stamp etc He is entitled to get respect and treat with dignity.

He would never complain so I will do it for him. Please common decency is all we ask for.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for sharing this with us. I am so sorry that at such a painful period in your life you haven’t felt confident in the care your father is receiving.

It is extremely sad to hear that you haven’t been able to spend the time with him that you wanted to or that you feel more could be done to provide him with food that he could manage safely.

None of this sound like the compassionate service that we would want to provide, particularly care at the end of life, and I am truly sorry that you have felt so badly let down.

You will understand why it is so important that we find out more about exactly what has happened on the ward and if there is anything that we need to do immediately to rectify matters. Unfortunately I can’t do this whilst your story remains anonymous.

I don’t want to intrude at this difficult time but would be extremely grateful if you could get in touch to privately share some details so that we can look into this further. My email is annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk

With all best wishes, Annie

Annie Laverty – director of patient experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful