"QVH East Grinstead, administration"

About: Queen Victoria Hospital / General surgery Queen Victoria Hospital / Ophthalmology

(as the patient),

I had a routine appointment in June, however the results were not as good as hoped and a follow-up appointment was made for late July

I was seen by the Consultant Team Leader, told that I needed an operation, likely to be in October, and referred for an MRI. I was also told to go immediately to pre-assessment. There I waited an hour to be told that as the expected procedure would be in October it was too soon for the pre-assesment.

With no news of the MRI date I called the hospital and after some time was told that my file had not been forwarded by the pre-assesment dept and was still there. They would get hold of it and book the MRI.

Had the MRI and was told if I did not hear in 2/3 weeks to call. I didn't and called. Apparently the file was still with the radiology dept and not forwarded to the Ophthamology dept.

I have now been trying for three weeks to get some idea of when the procedure might take place as I wish to plan the rest of this year and book a holiday in November.

Administrators are either away from their desk or on holiday. On one occasion the first secretary was on holiday and calls referred to another, who's out of date voice mail said she was on holiday as well, referring callers to thew Team leader who was ouot of the office until the following week. Unable to contact any administration staff at all.

Finally got through to someone who put me through to the "scheduling" dept. The person who would be scheduling my procedure was on holiday but was told that the prcedure was 'likely to be in November' but no indication of which part. After saying that I was trying to book a holiday I was told that I would not be able to fly for period of time after the procedure, that she would find out how long and call me back.

So, I am still waiting to hear when the procedure might be, still waiting to hear how long after the procdure I might be able to fly.

The admin is woeful; files not passed on, delays all along the line.

And all the time my condition is deteriorating.

Medically a great hospital, administratively, in my experience, very poor.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nicolle Ferguson, Patient Experience Manager, Queen Victoria Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

picture of Nicolle Ferguson

Dear Stuart1

We were concerned to read of your experience following your recent visits and contact with Queen Victoria Hospital. It would be important to be able to understand what happened to you and to investigate the significant administrative issues that you have reported. To be able to do this we require your full name etc.

Please contact the Paul Gable, Business Manager - Clinical Support Services by e-mailing paul.gable@qvh.nhs.uk to enable him to progress this investigation. Paul would also be happy to call you if you provide your contact details.

We look forward to hearing from you and apologise for the experience that you have reported.

Kind regards,

  • stuart1 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too