"MRI Department refuses prostate scan as referred."

About: Addenbrooke's Hospital

I'm a 37 year old man and my wife a 38 year old women about to start IVF after allot of trials and tribulations.

The last hurdle to over come was when I had to have my MRI Prostate appointment at Addenbrookes on Wed 23 September 2015 at 9.00.

Despite leaving at 7.30am to drive 30 miles, I was stuck in horrendous slow moving traffic on the A10 and then through Cambridge city center during rush hour.

I was distressed that I might be late and had telephoned the clinic and spoken to the receptionist to report that I would be late throughout my journey (at 08:27, 08.58 and 09:19) and was assured by the reception staff that I would still be seen in between patients and that the Radiographer had said it was fine.

When I arrived around 10 am, The Radiographer came storming out of his office and began publicly chastising me for my lateness.

I stated that it was not my fault and that I had been stuck in traffic yet they refused to believe me stating that they do the journey on a regular basis and it never takes that long.

When I said that I had phoned 3 times, they stated they had not been made aware by the receptionists.

They flatly refused to see me and spent more time debating the issue than it would've taken to do the scan, all in front of other waiting patients.

The radiographer was unprofessional and extremely unpleasant, even after showing them the phone calls on my mobile, refusing to believe that I was late due to traffic and continuing their insinuations that I was lying.

I told them that I thought there had been a traffic accident but they showed no empathy whatsoever.

I felt like a naughty boy being spoken to by the Head Master at infant school and was made to feel very discriminated against as they persisted in accusing me of lying.

To add insult to injury, I still had to pay £3.90 for the car park, which hardly had a single space in it and I was forced to park on the 9th floor.

What is also distressing for my wife and I is that she is 39 next month and we feel that we may be running out of time to get our IVF started.

Frankly the fact that the Radiologist was aware of this further highlights his callousness.

We are both now thoroughly disgusted with his attitude and the lack of communication between staff and will now seek an appointment with another hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Addenbrooke's Hospital

Thank you for letting us know about your experience on 23 September 2015.

I am very sorry to learn that you had such a difficult journey and the subsequent problems you had when you arrived at Addenbrooke's.

I would encourage you to contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01223 216756 or email pals@addenbrookes.nhs.uk so that we can look into these events and respond to you personally.

Complaints and PALS Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful