"Terrible attitude from admin nurses"

About: Chesterfield Royal Hospital

The medical Care here is very good however the administration nurses attitude and general ability to care out there job is awful. I recently broke my collar and required surgery which was carried out well and a good job was done. However going for check ups on repeated occasions from checking in to the fracture clinic to have an x-ray my details we lost on 3 occasions leaving me with on average of a 5 hour wait to have an x-ray. Yesterday 24/09/15 I went up hopefully for my final x-ray and to be discharged. Unfortunately this didn't happen, having a appointment at 2.10 pm i arrived at 2.00 and got sent pretty much straight through to x-ray which was fine. The problem came when my details got lost...... After being told that should there be any issue it would be told by the receptionist. Obliviously patient care was not the priority as after an hour I went to the counter to ask what was happening after the 4 gentlemen who were waiting for there x-ray had it carried out followed by another 9 people who arrived after me also had there's done. Unfortunately I only had enough money for 2 hours parking so had to leave. I was going to ask the nurse if they could cancel my appointment and rearrange, this would of been possible if someone was actuality on the counter. So I had to walk out and assume that I'll never get this x-ray now due to very poor standards. No-one being on the counter was common well I was there as repeatedly patients kept coming in and no-one was there to deal with them. A little more time worrying about the patients and a little less time flirting would probably mean that details weren't lost as this was not the only time this happened, this was just the time I'd had enough of watching it. So now I have not had my x-ray wasn't able to be discharged and completely wasted my afternoon and couldn't even get someone to talk to. How can it take over 2 hours to have an x-ray when you have an appointment booked and every man and there dog get through first. I'm not sure if I'm liked so much they enjoy having me sat around or just genuinely dislike me as it always seems to happen. Unfortunately the attitude and ability to do the job of the admin nurses has really let down the team at Chesterfield

Royal as on the medical side they were fantastic.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Chesterfield Royal Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on here and for letting us know how you felt about your experiences at the hospital.

I am really pleased that you feel your medical care has been good – but concerned that you feel let down by the nursing and administrative teams supporting your care. I am obviously worried that you left the department without having the x-ray you had attended for. I’m responding today on behalf of the service that runs diagnostic services and I will be making them aware of your post.

It would be helpful to have your contact details so they can get in touch with you to see if this issue can be satisfactorily resolved as soon as possible, to make sure your clinical care is not compromised. You can email your contact details to me at sarah.turner-saint@nhs.net

Kind regards Sarah Turner-Saint Head of Communications

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful