"One of the worst experiences of my life"

About: Royal Preston Hospital

I am still devastated by my treatment at Preston. When I talk about my time there I cry. It was one week ago that I was discharged. I arrived on the Saturday referred from Blackburn where I had been treated with care and compassion and left on the following Tuesday. I had two slipped discs and suspected CES and was in so much pain I couldn't walk at all. I was left in a nappy one time, I was helped to a commode during visiting time and had to use it behind the curtain whilst visitors could hear me. I was on my period and the nurse then wheeled my commode through the busy ward with no lid on it so that the contents were there for all to see. Patient dignity is last on the agenda. I was in pain and I was told that it was not protocol to use the pain meds that I had been given at Blackburn, so I spent the first two days literally sobbing in pain and no one offered me any more. Staff were curt, brief, often rude. I needed a breast pump as I had left my baby at home and after asking half a dozen times for one (I was getting engorged) I ended up using my mobile to ring Preston hospital, asked to be put through to the postnatal ward and made my own request for the pump. I haven't enough space to write the amount of terrible things that happened. As a patient in pain you expect compassion, physical help, pain relief and dignity. I received none. I would not set foot in Preston hospital again if you paid me. I am totally disgusted. And to be honest I feel traumatised by the whole thing.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Preston Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience when you were recently a patient in the Neurosurgical Department. We were extremely saddened and concerned to read your comments and would welcome the opportunity to discuss the concerns you have raised in more detail if you would be willing to do so. If so, could you please contact Rhona Hartley, our Head of Patient Experience and Customer Care on 01772 522793.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read