"Communication and care"

About: The Walton Centre

(as the patient),

Unable to reach call bell due to pain. Pain relief not given - waited 3 hours. Nurse apologised, stating others should have provided it.

Food left on tray whilst unable to move or reach call bell. Nurses at station ignored calls for help until another patients family member went to them. Even then there was a further 5 minutes before help received - leaving me with cold food after being without for 36 hours. At night nurses repeatedly used sink next to bed, leaving the stations light beaming into my eyes. Asked repeatedly for curtain to be closed but ignored (3 nights). Did not receive physiotherapy until a day after I should have. Huge delay waiting for drugs on discharge (6 hours). Locum staff not familiar with systems. No formal complaint raised, but hope some of these issues can be addressed so the next patient is not subject to the same treatment.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient Experience, The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust

Sorry to read that you did not have a good experience of our care. At The Walton Centre we strive to get it right for every patient and are sorry you were let down.

So we can get to the bottom of what happened, could you contact our Patient Experience Team? They can be contacted on 0151 556 3090/3091 or emailing PatientExperienceTeam@thewaltoncentre.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful