"Cancer Unit"

About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Birmingham)

Like a third world clinic

Waiting time of 2.5 hours in ward 621 are unacceptable for cancer patients. The whole ward was a shambles and place of confusion

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience on Ward 621 at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

We are very sorry to hear that you experienced a delay of 2.5 hours. The nature of the treatment delivered on the ward means that there are sometimes delays which are unavoidable, however the reason for any delays should always be fully communicated. We are very sorry if this did not happen during your stay and can understand how frustrating this is. We value your feedback which been shared with all relevant senior staff and will be discussed with their team members. The Matron responsible for Ward 621 is particularly keen to discuss your experience with you in more detail so that she can investigate what has gone wrong and ensure any necessary actions are taken.

If you are happy to discuss your concerns with us further please make contact via the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) who will be pleased to arrange this. PALS can be contacted by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form or in person by dropping in between 9am – 5pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located near the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful