"Very disappointed in the care received"

About: Kettering General Hospital

Basically I came in to a&e my details was spoke about rather public, everyone could hear, the staff nurse and receptionist sat in the reception bit talking about the other patients and laughing about conditions it was horrendous. Then I had the nurse do my obs, who was great, however I wasn't told anything. I didn't know my heart was beating fast until 2 hours later when it was checked. I asked this member of staff what is going on and if my heart had reduced, to be told I don't know I've not read your notes. Then I had a doctor who was not much help, and basically said I was going to be admitted, but I wasn't told the reason why... So this got me very panicky. Then I was put into the added bit on a and e with no privacy, and I had a gyno doctor come down, still no idea what was going on. The pain this doctor put me in was unbelievable, and the doctor was very rude! I ended up discharging myself. 3 days later I was in maple ward these nurses told me that I had an ectopic pregnancy and a water infection...... Was this too hard for a&e to explain to me?!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

I would like to thank you for your feedback and apologise to you for the poor experience you received while in the Accident and Emergency Department.

We are in the process of remodelling and removing the glass from our reception area to ensure that when patients book in they will not need to talk loudly to be heard.

From your description the area you were moved to is a part of A&E but it does not have cubicles, it is a bay with curtains. My assumption is that you were taken to that area as there were no other cubicles free at the time.

I will remind all our staff of the expectations of the department when they are in public areas. All staff are fully aware that we need to keep our patients informed of their journey through our department and the hospital. I am very sorry we failed you on this admission.

I do not have any more details other than your first name so I am unable to individually speak to the staff concerned, but please rest assured I will be passing on your comments to all staff. I will also discuss your comments at our next staff meeting later this month.

I sincerely hope you are feeling better.

Sandra Iwanoff

Senior Matron

Accident & Emergency

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful