"Orion unit Highbury Hospital."

About: Highbury Hospital

(as the patient),

I was inpatient for 6 weeks on the Orion unit and was treated with respect and dignity from the nursing and HCA staff. Some of the bank staff where rude and seemed uncaring.

I think the Orion unit is too big, it was better when they had the two smaller units, too many patients and no staff so there where loads of bank staff on the ward which meant no consistency with the staff, new staff everyday. I felt like my complaints wasn't taken seriously and no action taken when I was assaulted by another patient.

The food was horrible too.

But cannot fault the nursing and HCA staff, very caring people.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Involvement Team , Involvement & Experience, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear ‘Bobbins’

Thank you for posting on Patient Opinion and sharing some positive feedback about the staff team. I was pleased to see you were treated with respect care and dignity during your stay at the Orion Unit. This is what we aim for with every patient.

I can see you had some concerns during your stay and I’m glad to say that we have been able to chat about this since you left your feedback. If you feel you need to have another chat please do not hesitate to contact me. I have also shared your feedback with the staff team at our weekly staff meetings.

In your posting you mentioned the Unit was too big. The unit opened in November 2013 to replace two smaller units one at Highbury Hospital and one at Lindsay Close Mansfield. The two units combined to offer a service that would support more adults who need specialist support in a purpose built unit and so that we can work closely with the person using our service and their families and staff.

I am sorry you felt that some of the bank staff were rude and uncaring. Where possible we use regular bank staff on the unit who can get to know our patients and become part of the team. I will pass this feedback on to the team that organise bank staff.

I am sorry you didn’t like the food. We offer different choices on the daily menu and try to offer a selection of hot and cold food. Since you left your feedback we have tried to involve the patients more in the choices of food available and I will let the kitchen know about your concerns.

We have recently introduced days when we have sandwich making with different filings and buffet choices to offer some more variety.

We appreciate your feedback as it can help us to improve things at The Orion Unit

Thank you.

Fiona Dennis

Orion Unit Manager

  • Bobbins thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Response from Simon Barnitt, Nurse Advisor, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

picture of Simon Barnitt

Dear Bobbins,

It saddens me deeply that you have experienced bank members who you consider to be rude and uncaring. Within the bank team we recruit and train our bank members in line with the values we expect them to demonstrate, where these expectations are not achieved we work with the bank members to reflect on their behaviours and improve.

It would be appreciated if you can provide further details of your concerns so we can identify the individuals concerned and provide additional support to them. I can be contacted on 0115 9560828.

Thank you for raising this issue.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful