About: Lister Hospital

I delivered my baby on the 22/8/15 I was induced on the Friday in the Dacre ward. The ward was nice and clean. I was seen by a student midwife as well as a midwife and they were very good at talking me through everything that was happening. I moved down to the midwife led unit to deliver my baby in a pool room. Upon arrival the delivery room was clean. My midwife was amazing and I really couldn't fault the care I received up until they finished their shift and my midwife changed. Unfortunately then I had some issues my room wasn't cleaned I had my baby at 2am and didn't leave the hospital until after 4pm. I waited for over 3 hours for pain relief and there was a distinct lack of communication between staff and myself and my husband with regards to our care. It was such a shame that our experience that started out so positive didn't finish so well

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

Whilst pleased to read that the overll care and support that you received from our maternity care was good, we were concerned to read about the last part of your labour experience - we know that our senior maternity team colleagues would like to follow this up with you if you have not spoken with them already.

The aim wojuld be to see what can be learnt from your experience to improve care and support for othres, but also to apologise to you and your husband for what happened.

If you're happy for us to put them in touch with you, just email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net.

Whether or not you choose to do this, please accept our best wishes for the future and many thanks for getting in touch t share your experience, which we have shared with the team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful