About: Eccleshill Community Hospital

Please note I have not visited the hospital yet only telephoned the 01274 201108 number on the referral letter I received from my GP.

I am in a lot of pain and so far have had 6 weeks off work.

I work as a social worker and it is imperative I am supported by the NHS that I pay into so that I can stay healthy and fit myself to work in a demanding statutory role.

I do not feel supported.

Trying to get an appointment to see a Rheumatologist has been and still is very difficult to the point of me feeling obstructed to get a proper diagnosis so I can progress towards good health again..

My GP referred me to Eccleshill Community Hospital.

I called the number on the referral letter I received from my GP and on the Monday got through to answer phone saying due to annual leave no-one could take call! Told to call back on the Wednesday.

Called back and reception person told me to not expect an appointment before 8 weeks!!

Why would they be qualified to make such a statement??

I am in a lot of pain and continue to be off from work because of it.

I was told about the complicated Triage system at that department and told that the Traige meeting (of which I was not involved with) would determine who I would see, where I would see them and how soon.

Told to call back on Friday which I have done only to be met with answer phone again saying due to annual leave I have to call back on Monday.

I am feeling very ill and in severe pain and this is the last thing I need at the moment.

I am trying to get well so I can go back to work!!

I will be taking this further as.

Why does my need to be assessed by a Rheumatologist at this hospital have to be so difficult to the point that I feel the need to complain like this.

Thank you

Mrs Kathryn Jackson

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Eccleshill Community Hospital

This sounds to have been very frustrating for you. I am sorry you have received such a poor service, which is not acceptable. I have made some enquiries because this service is not part of Bradford Teaching Hospitals, it is the GP Community MSK Triage Service.

I have escalated your concerns to the relevant manager who is going to investigate them. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful