"Staff made me feel uncomfortable"

About: Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust Kirklees Sexual Health Outreach / Huddersfield New College open door service Locala Community Partnerships CIC

(as the patient),

I was afraid that I could have been pregnant so I wanted to talk to someone and get tested, when I searched up where, princess royal was number 1 in huddersfield. Me and my friend went there a week later, and when we walked in, there was a large group of nurses chatting to each other and stopped and gave us funny looks and then we asked them for the reception, and they were silent, looking at us acting like they didn't work there, me and my friend felt uncomfortable so we left. (This all happened in August 2014). The next month I started college and found out about open door and it's been the best place to go to if I need anything.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Louise Thornton, Customer Engagement Manager , Adults Planned and Health and Wellbeing Business Unit, Locala Community Partnerships

picture of Louise Thornton

Hi Leej

Thank you for sharing your story. I was sorry to hear you had a poor experience when trying to access one of our services. I will pass your comments onto the contraception and sexual health team at Princess Royal.

The service does have its own reception area & waiting room which is if you walk up the car parking area at the front of the building with the wall on your right the entrance is just there on the left.

If it were Locala CasH nurses that you asked direction from (we cannot be sure and because other services do use the site.) I know they would want to apologise. Please don't let this experience put you off using the service again.

Louise Thornton

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful