"A big joke"

About: Chesterfield Royal Hospital

I was brought into Chesterfield Royal by ambulance in the early hours of Friday morning with severe abdominal pain following a call to the 111 service who sent out a paramedic who agreed I needed to be admitted. On arrival to the A+E department I was well looked after & the staff were attentive & professional. I was then moved a few hours later on to the EMU department where I was continually assessed by a wonderful nurse and their colleague. I was seen by a surgical doctor who told me I had a urine infection. I knew I did not have a urine infection. The doctor's manner was rude & I was left feeling like a fraud, however a scan was requested by the nurse, and their colleague continued to look after me & I wish that I could've taken them both with me to the Barnes ward as again it was a different treatment up there.

After seeing another surgical doctor it was then decided I had a different issue. I was dosed up on more pain relief & instructed to be nil by mouth until I had had a scan. Day 2 & no scan, had not eaten since Thursday evening & pretty much left. Saturday morning I was seen by a different consultant who said I could eat but soup & jelly only so when breakfast came this was a massive deal for the healthcare assistant who despite saying they would source a jelly from the fridge it never materialised. My Husband thankfully brought me some in on his way to work but the fear of being lynched when asking for a spoon meant I had to eat with my fingers!!!!

To cut a very long story short, unless you were cute & old or kicked off you were left to your own devices. With the exception of a handful of nurses my stay was not a good one. I've had 3 differing diagnosis & as I write this from my bed at home after being discharged yesterday I've still had no scan. 4 days I was in that Hospital & only having phoned this morning to see when my outpatient appointment for my scan is, have I been told that the imaging department do not work weekends & my request has been put forward but it could be 2 weeks before I get one. Perhaps the consultants & nurses should be informed that you don't get a scan on weekends because either they don't realise or people were not being straight with me from the beginning. I admittedly am not in near enough the amount of pain that I was but I'm still not right, I was happy to come home as the care I needed could be provided more than sufficiently.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Chesterfield Royal Hospital

First of all I hope you are continuing to make a good recovery and that you have now had your scan? I am responding to your post on behalf of the Trust – but I would like to assure you that the divisions who manage the services you are writing about will receive your comments to reflect on.

I was pleased to read that on arrival in ED and later on EMU you felt you were treated well and cared for appropriately.

I am sorry to see however that you felt that experiences following that initial introduction were less than positive.

I was particularly saddened to read that your husband had to bring in jelly for you and that you were afraid to ask for a spoon.

I also note that you believe scans aren’t available at weekends – I’m not clear what type of scan you required, but diagnostic services support our wards seven days a week.

All in all I can appreciate why you felt so disappointed and were glad to come home, but I hope we can still learn from your experience and try and put things right for you. I hope you read my response so that you can let us have your contact details.

You can either call our assistance & complaints team on 01246 512640 or email me at sarah.turner-saint@nhs.net

Kind regards Sarah Turner-Saint Head of Communications

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful