"minor injuries"

About: Sevenoaks Hospital

This evening I took my 4 year old here to the minor injuries unit it was 7.15 and they close at 8 my son had cut his ear and I just wanted to get it checked out to be on the safe side we paid and displayed then went in and was about to take a ticket but the very rude receptionist told us there was an hour wait and they were not seeing anyone else we asked if someone could just have a quick look and if it needed treatment we were prepared to go to pembury but they said louder and sterner were not seeing anyone else there's an hour wait and we finish at 8 I was thoroughly discusted that they turned a child away 45 mins before they were due to shut if this is the case say no more patients after 7 would not reccommed

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sevenoaks Hospital


Thank you for your feedback. Rachael Renshaw, Matron, MIU and OPD has provided the following response.

We are sorry that you did not have a good experience when visiting our Minor Injuries service on 9th September. You are correct in saying that our service is open until 8pm however on occasions the number of patients attending late into the evening can sometimes mean that it is not possible to provide them with full treatment. On these occasions, patients arriving before 8pm will be booked into the service and a Practitioner will redirect them to an appropriate service for treatment. This is rare and usually only affects very few patients attending. However on the evening of 9th September an unusual situation occurred. When you had arrived at 7:15pm there were a number of patients who had arrived some time before this who were still waiting to book in (there are usually only 1 or 2). Though the Practitioners did continue to see and advise the patients who were booked in they did not finish seeing the last patient until after the closing time of the service. The staff work a 12 hour shift and it is not feasible for the service to stay open and the staff continue working each day indefinitely until no further patients arrive. It is for this reason that the decision was made that no further patients would be booked in. We are sorry that you had paid for a parking ticket.

In terms of the receptionist, we are sorry that you had found her to be rude as her intention was to advise you that your child would be unable to be seen due to the current circumstances. We will review our process as to how this could be better managed in future to ensure that patients receive information about how to seek treatment rather than be turned away.

Best wishes

Customer Care Team

Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust

Tel: 0300 123 1807

Email: kcht.cct@nhs.net

Website: www.kentcht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful