"Great experience at QC birth centre"

About: Queen Charlotte's Hospital

I gave birth to my second son in the QC birth centre last Saturday. As with my first delivery there already, the midwifes were excellent-caring, in control, coaching us through the process in a wonderful way. Compared to my first delivery there in December 2013, it is evident that resources have become tighter following the closure of the mayernity ward in Ealing-while we were given a spacious double room that made it easy for my hisband to stay after the delivery of our first baby, we only had a tiny room with a single bed this time round-but it was still a private room without having to pay for it, so no complaints! Rebuilding work at the BC made it quite noisy, but this is temporary and all the staff worked very hard at making life very comfortable for us and discharging us quickly. The midwives there are really the best and helped me to have two natural deliveries with no pain relief or instruments, making my birth experiences incredibly positive. I would highly recommend them.

Sadly the same cannot be said for the antenatal clinic-getting appointments is tedious, timings are never adhered to, waiting times are ridiculous and staff at the desk is very rude. Luckily most of the antenatal appointments can be taken outside the hospital by community midwives who are lovely, but the antenatal clinic in QC really is a very frustrating place to be that I imagine puts many first tine mums off this hospital alltogether. Many have provided the same feedback before me, and it is a shame to see that no improvements have been made over the past two years for this. My advice to all muns considering QC-grit your teeth and stick through the substandard antenatal care-the care on the day of delivery is excellent and makes it all worth it.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Charlotte's Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about maternity services at Queen Charlotte's hospital.

We are glad that you had two positive experiences with the care provided by midwives whilst you were in labour and were happy with the after care.

We are concerned about your comments about the antenatal service at Queen Charlotte's hospital.

All your feedback has gone to senior managers and taken very seriously.

Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) would like to have the opportunity to discuss your concerns about the antenatal department.

PALS can be contacted on 0203 313 0088 or by email pals@imperial.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful