"Well attended high risk delivery"

About: The Royal London Hospital

I gave birth to my son on Monday 17th August with forceps as I developed a temperature while labouring which obviously raised concerns for an infection. It turned up to be Strep B and it meant staying in hospital for a week. My son was not affected by it.

In terms of midwifery care during labour and doctors/surgeons/ anaesthetist: when I went into theatre for an emergency forceps delivery, I cannot speak highly enough of the team. The care and attentions I got in the recovery room after delivery by the midwife at 2 am were second to none; they were wonderful, washed me, fed my son , made a bed on the floor for my husband and on our request, found us a private room.

Once we managed to find a private room for me to stay ( GBP 120 a night worth spending), midwifery care post natal declined a little. I never had an episode or rudness or lack of care.

but things do slow down and it becomes quite obvious that they are understaffed and do not communicate/ coordinate well between themselves. The wards are extremely busy and some 4-bed bays can be quite loud. If you are to stay for more than one night there and you can afford it, avoid the shared rooms; resting there seemed quite impossible.

Lastly but equally important: cleanness. Frankly quite poor. Before having my son, in room 21 of High Risk delivery ward,

I had to show the midwife the state of the wardrobe in the room. It had balls of dust, wood chips and a pair of old used underpants rolled in there. I took a picture in disbelieve. Disgusting. As far as postnatal is concerned, in my private room the bathroom was cleaned every day but the room per se wasn't for the entire week I was there other than the mopping the floor and not in a very thorough fashion (not under arm chairs or bedside table)

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Royal London Hospital

Dear Cristina

Firstly, congratulations on the birth of your son. We hope you are settling in well.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear that you found the care you received throughout your labour and during recovery to be second to none. The team will be happy to hear this. However, it is sad to hear that when you moved to a private room the care you received declined.

We have passed your comments over to the Maternity Team for them to see and to ensure that they are aware of the concerns you have raised around lack of communication, the decline in post natal care and the uncleanliness of the rooms. We really value your feedback and will use this to improve our services and the care we provide our patients.

Best wishes

Barts Health NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful