"Not enough staff or rooms"

About: Royal Hallamshire Hospital

I visited the maternity assessment ward when my waters had broke, firstly I was told it probably wasn't my waters that had broken to then have to go back the next day (as i was convinced they had). I was then told my waters had broke and because it had been 48 hours they need to induce me asap!!! I was placed in a room on labour ward and told to get ready to be induced, a midwife would be with me shortly to insert the drip. After 5 hours i was told they need to prioritise whongetscacroom on labour ward and right now they need my room so i need to vacate asap. I then had to change back into my clothes and put my belongings in my bag and was sent to a waiting room. I was told inwould have to wait on a ward upstairs until there was space on labour ward. I was sent back to a waiting room until after midnight (i was told I couldn't go home due to risk of infection) also I had nothing to eat since lunch as I was told i wasnt allowed when being induced.

I spent the night on a ward upstairs and surprise surprise there was no space on labour ward all night. The midwife said its a waiting game and they wasn't sure how long I would be waiting.

In the morning I was placed on a monitor and my babies heart rate was very high and I was rushed to theatre for an emergency caserian.

I can't help but wonder how different my labour could have been if I had been induced when the consultant said I needed to be induced asap???

After delivery I was placed on a ward where my bllodied bed sheets wernt changed for 48 hours (even after I was mobile) I wasn't offered a shower and midwife's took quite a while when u buzzed them as I couldn't reach my baby due to not been able to get out of bed after a caserian.

The day after my major operation (I was in a lot of pain) my medical card was sent to the pharmacy, I asked continually for pain relief but was told I can't have it until they get my medicine card back! I waited 5 hours until they got it back.

As it was time for me to leave (after been told I'm one of the first of the day and then finally been discharged at 5pm) I was not given the pain relief that the doctor the day before had told me they would prescribe for me to take home.

Overall my experience at Jessops was awful, what should have been an enjoyable, magical time in my life , bringing my precious baby into the world was turned into a scary, painful and stressful experience all round.

On a positive note the staff were really friendly and helpful when you could get hold of them, there just wasn't enough staff and not enough rooms.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Deborah Hopkinson, Patient Experience Co-ordinator, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Laura

Congratulations on the birth of your baby. I hope you are both doing well.

I was so sorry to hear about your poor experience. Clearly this is not the standard that we would wish for our patients.

Your comments have been escalated to senior staff within the Unit. However, if you wish to raise this as a formal complaint matter and receive a personal response from our Chief Executive, please can you contact our Patient Services Team by telephoning 0114 271 2400 or emailing them at pst@sth.nhs.uk and they will be pleased to assit.

Kind regards.
  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Deborah Hopkinson, Patient Experience Co-ordinator, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Response from the Jessop Wing

We would like to offer our congratulations on the birth of yourdaughter in August of this year.

We are very sorry your experience fell below thestandard we strive to give. At the time of your admission the labour ward wasexperiencing an increased level of complex activity alongside the midwifery ledcare births totalling 13 births over a 5 hour period.

The actions taken to manage the work load were to prioritizecare and maintain patient safety. We apologise that this may haveaffected your expectation of your labour and birth experience and you may nothave been given the opportunity to further discuss the reasons for delayingyour induction.

In times of high activity the midwives work closely with theobstetricians and midwifery management in order to continually monitor theservice.

Please accept our apologies for the delay in administration ofpain relief following the birth of your baby. The staff were workingwithin the Trust guidelines for administration of medicines however, inorder to improve the service we have identified and are addressing thereduction in the length of time it takes from prescribing and obtainingmedication whilst an inpatient and upon discharge.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for bringingyour concerns to our attention and to assure you that we take all such concernsvery serious as they help us to improve our services.

Thank you for yourcomments and positive feedback in relation to the staffs friendliness andhelpfulness. We would like to take the opportunity to discuss your concernsfurther and will endeavour to contact you in due course.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful