"Not suitable for patients with long term..."

About: Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

Very disappointed with this new hospital.

The service seems to be focused on emergencies such as heart attack or road traffic accidents.

My husband was sent to this hospital by his clinicians in oncology as he was poorly and they felt he needed to be checked out.

The staff were not interested in his cancer, did not do any diagnostics and sent him home.

The doctor said they were reluctant to admit him as he had had diarrhea the previous day but this is a side effect of the chemotherapy he was on and not an infection.

They were reluctant to do any type of scan or ultrasound and said this should be done in outpatients.

The medical staff at Oncology had sent instructions outlining his condition and what was needed using SBAR.

The staff did not even read the information.

I will avoid this means of access to secondary care if at all possible.

We spent 6 hours there and the staff did not do anything.

He was admitted to Palliative care at Wansbeck a few days later.

Improvements are need to identify what this hospital is for.

It does not seem to fulfill the obligations mentioned prior to opening.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital

Dear Madam,

I am extremely sorry that you have left our new hospital feeling so let down by the care your husband received there and the poor communication between the oncology team and the emergency care team. Unfortunately I can't look into any of the details or talk to staff to discover what happened because your post remains anonymous .

I would be very grateful if you would work with us to help us understand where the gaps in care occurred and why. My email is annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk

Thanks in anticipation,


Annie Laverty - Director of Patient Experience