"Ultrasound unwelcoming"

About: Kent & Canterbury Hospital

I visited the ultrasound dept. 2 receptionists completely ignored me and carried on chatting leaving me standing there like a lemon. Unprofessionally chit-chatting. Finally acknowledged me and after I told them my name it was just "take a seat".

Radiologist completely ignored me as I entered the suite, didn't speak to me or put me at ease at all, even though the scan result could be cancer and I am anxious. However the assistant who took me there was nice.

Awful way to treat patients who may be frightened of the results of their scan.

I am a nurse in a GP surgery, thankfully my patients are treated with dignity, respect and in a professional manor.

Also I was supposed to be seen urgently within 2 weeks. No appointment arrived after 2 weeks. I rang and it was clear I had been overlooked and this apointment was hastily arranged at the last moment.

I now wait anxiously for results and hope I don't have to attend K&C for any more scans.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kent & Canterbury Hospital

Thank you for letting us know about this incident of poor customer service.

We are currently running a programme of awareness for reception staff at all clinics - this training will be offered for the ultrasound department.

It is unacceptable that you were ignored when you presented yourself to the desk.

I am also sorry that you did not get your appointment in a timely fashion.

Please feel free to contact PALS (the Patient Advice and Liaison Service) if you have any further problems with appointments.

Their telephone number is 01227 864314 or 01227 783145, or they can be emailed at ekh-tr.PALS@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful