"early pregnancy unit - first time mum"

About: Lister Hospital

I have had a few experiences of Lister recently.

I came in 4 weeks ago to A& E as I was referred by my GP who suspected an ectopic pregnancy (6weeks). I waited 3 hours to see someone. I was examined, Bloods were taken but I had to wait till the following morning for the early pregnancy unit to analyse the results and no ultra sound units were free anyway to check.

I was told they would call me first thing.

It got to 10am and I hadn't heard, so I called and was told that I had an ultra sound booked and to come in that day.

I went in for the ultra sound and the nurse was very friendly.

I found out that the pregnancy was fine but that I had a benine tuma on my left ovary.

Unfortunately, my faith was then lost a bit as 3 weeks prior to this and prior to knowing I was pregnant, I had come to lister for an ultra sound complaining of abdominal pains, and at no point did anyone pick up my 30mmx30mmx25mm benine tuma.

I was told that all was ok and if I had any further pain at all to come straight back and the tuma would be monitored.

A week later I had extremely bad lower abdominal pain and so went back in. I went to the EPU again and was dealt with by a foundation doctor.

They didn't install any confidence and was running in and out and not communicating with me at all and looked confused herself.

They took my bloods and again I was told to not worry and go home.

They put the pain down to a previous Appendicitus.

An opinion, no actual evidence.

On Tuesday 1st September (10 weeks), I went to see my midwife at Hertford Country hospital.

I went through all my medical background and she told me that if I get any pain at all that I am to go to the EPU no matter what.

The last 2 days, I have been experiencing a constant 6/10 pain that won't subside in my lower abdomen and back.

I waited until today to go to EPU as to be honest, I had no faith there was any real point.

On arriving at 8.30am, to what is supposedly an emergency drop in, I was told I should have called ahead.

I did try to call at 7.45am when leaving but no one answered. I then waited an hour and finally saw a doctor.

They took a urine sample and said that it was normal.

2 hours later, I was about to be sent home again and told to take paracetemol.

I asked if there was no way to have an ultra sound as this pain was bad! They told me that there were no ultra sound slots until mid next week and that honestly, if something were wrong, they could not help anyway and so waiting wasn't going to change the outcome.

It changes my stress levels.

Stress is the worst thing for a baby. I was told to take paracetemol and if the pain was still bad to come back.

I have taken paracetemol and I am still in agony! The pain is pretty bad and worse than that, is the worry of what the pain means.

I will not be going back though, as I have no confidence whatsoever that anything will be done.

I am now paying £100 for a private scan despite paying taxes for 18 years for NHS that I don't benefit from.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

We're sorry that you were unhappy with the care you have received from our midwifery team.

We know that our senior midwife would want to talk with you about what has happened so that she can understand your concerns better, as well as apologise personally where she feels things weren't done as she would have expected.

If you are happy to give her that chance, then please email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net - we look forward to hearing from you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful