"6 hr wait; clearly could of been avoided!"

About: Good Hope Hospital

Referred to goodhope after being sat in a walk in clinic for 2 hrs. The gp spoke to the amu team and I was quickly called back to make my way.

I went straight to the main a&e reception at 8.30pm with my letter stating everything (patient to attend amu). Bare in mind, im poorly, not quite with myself relying on the receptionist to obviously put me where I'm supposed to be. The receptionist was quite sharp & very unprofessional.

They sent me to take a seat. This is where it gets messy...

I sat in a&e for 3 hrs, In this time i was left and was getting very distressed and i asked a few times what was happening.

I kept getting told a doctor will be half an hr, twice in the space of 3 hrs.

I was clearly getting upset and tried to state to the staff I was referred here and meant to be at amu! In the end a nurse came and spoke to me as I got very upset for being ignored when clearly I was stood by the front desk waiting to speak to some one. I tried to explain I've been waiting around since 4.30pm from start and not eaten or drank anything. i only wanted to know what was happening, a little patient care would of be nice at that point. ... I was finally then wheeled to AMU! Told they were taking me to where the doctors were... clearly confusing.

Got there finally at 12am! On ward 18 and the staff were amazing, totally different.

I had been sat waiting since 5pm for help as I was unwell. So a nice cup of coffee and a sandwich was heaven at 12am. Unfortunately i still didn't get seen till 3.30am! No fault of the ward as they were clearly busy, treated me very well.

I feel if my letter was read properly by the receptionist firstly and the staff on the a&e department My night would not of been in total an 11 hr nightmare! I ended up discharging myself at 4.30am as I couldn't wait for a registrar to sign me off, I have 3 young children to attend to when they wake as my partner had to go to work and to make matters worse i cancelled childcare that day as I knew I'd be to poorly to attend. I can't believe i pay my taxes for this kind of service! staff on ward 18 - Thank you

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Marie Helebert, Patient Services Officer, Patient Services, Heart of England Foundation Trust

Dear Chrissy

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at our Accident and Emergency Department, and AMU Ward 18 at Good Hope Hospital.

I am sorry that you were made to wait in A&E when you had clearly been referred directly to AMU as had been advised in your letter from the GP.

I will forward your feedback to Sarah Faulkner, Operations Manager for Unplanned Care, who will highlight your experience appropriately to ensure that other patients do not have a similar experience in the future. I will also include Neil Mallett, Matron for Acute Medicine who will highlight your positive comments to all of the staff on Ward 18.

I hope that this is acceptable, and that you are now recovered.

Please contact Patient Services on 0121 424 0808 or by email: patientservices@heartofengland.nhs.uk if you require any other assistance. A member of the team will be happy to help.

Kind regards

Marie Helebert

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful