"Shocking a and r care from in experienced staff"

About: Tameside General Hospital

I attended thameside a and e yesterday (31/9/15) as I had fallen and broken my foot.

Now believe me it takes a lot for me go even consider going to a and e due previous bad experiences, but I was in agony and could not walk.

As I entered on crutches clearly in pain with my foot swollen, the staff behind the counter carried on talking and left me stood there! Baring in mind had I called an ambulance (as I have a right too) I would have been given pain relief, a chair and gas and air! Eventually they asked the questions and were very rude and abrupt.

I had an x Ray and a pleasant doctor eventually (3 hours later) came and spoke to me. They thought I had one fracture, but wasn't sure? Seriously this is a doctor! They went off leaving me alone for a time again, and came back saying I had 3 fractures!! But they needed a further opinion! Okay that's fine! A very rude obnoxious orthopaedic doctor arrived with an attitude problem, and basically made me feel lied I was lying stating that I couldn't move my toes that were clearly difformed! the orthopaedic doctor ordered another x Ray! And then about an hour later I was left standing in the corridor as they had no were for me to sit, with 3 fractures in my foot! The obnoxious doctor then said I needed a half cast on to see the fracture clinic!!

Cast has been put on appallingly, my toes (which are fractured and difformed) are hanging out and my ankle is now under pressure!

I asked for some painkillers and I was informed the pharmacy wasn't open on a bank holiday, so that's 24 hours without real pain relief!! I asked when I would be seen in the fracture clinic, I was told I would have been called today (Monday) with an appointment! They also stated it could be weeks (in this cast hats falling apart)! I've had no phone call at all and I am in agony!

If your doctors can't cope with a simple foot fracture and don't even have the decency to treat people with respect I suggest they find another job.

I also asked for a sick note and was told no speak to your GPs.

I rang my gp today who was not very happy at all at there time being wasted with an appointment when you could have done it and they informed me it was you're responsibility!! I will be lodging a formal complaint!

You are a disgrace and it's no wonder the nhs is in the state its in!!

I have now made an appointment with a private doctor, and if they diagnose me with something different than your doctors I will be suing, as it was clear they had no clue what they were looking at on the x Ray!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Howard, Head of Patient Experience, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We are sorry you have had cause to raise this.

Please can I request you contact our Pals and Complaints department on 0161 922 4466 or email Palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk so that we can look into and investigate your concerns.

Helen Howard

Matron Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful