About: Northampton General Hospital (Acute)

I have been under the care of a consultant as I require treatment for fibroids and have a further complication as I am anaemic.

Despite there being numerous treatments available to shrink fibroids the consultant has not prescribed these as they are not on the formulary and on each visit a hysterectomy is mentioned (which I have always insisted I do not want).

I am now having an operation to dissect some of the fibroids which I have been advised may not be particularly successful. I am currently sitting in pre op (have been here for almost 2 Hours without being seen).

I tried to book an appt for a pre op on the telephone last week and the week before however no one answers the phone.

I finally drove in here last week as a drop in patient and was told I couldn't be seen as they wouldn't have my notes and to come back today but be prepared for a long wait.

I am extremely worried about my operation this coming Thursday as the care, organisation and general common sense has certainly been lacking to date.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Head of Patient Experience & Engagement, Northampton General Hospital NHS Trust

Sincere apologies that your experience prior to you posting your feedback had not been a positive one. Our aim within the hospital is to learn from patients experiences and I thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hope your operation on that Thursday was a success. If, however, you are still facing issues may I please ask that you contact our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) who can help you to resolve any concerns you have within the hospital.

They can be reached in the following ways;

Telephone: 01604 545784 (9.00am – 4.30pm weekdays; answerphone at other times

E-mail: PALS@ngh.nhs.uk

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful