"I had a wasted journey"

About: Inverclyde Royal Hospital / General Medicine

(as the patient),

I recently attended IRH outpatients department (on 2 occasions) for tests and to see cardiologist. First appointment was for treadmill test and following a baseline ECG I was told that the technician would not be able to do the test due to the unusual heart rythm.

I was asked if the cardiologist had seen my ECG when I was admitted to the ward prior to this as he should have known I could not go on the treadmill due to the unusual heart rythm as it could be masking underlying problems.

This was all news to me as I had never been told there was an unusual heart rythm and had me very worried. I saw several doctors whilst on the ward so couldn't say who or what their speciality was.

On my second OPD appointment I sat for 1 hour in the waiting area to see the cardiologist. When I went to the reception to enquire why I had waited so long when I'd be seen I was told the doctor had been called away. But no-one had thought to tell me this. I had yet another wasted journey!

It has now put me off attending yet another appointment in case that too turns into a waste of time! I appreciate that things don't always run smoothly, but this should not happen. It causes patients undue worry and stress!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear nonethewiser,

I am really sorry that on both of these occasions you were left feeling worried and more stressed than you were already - as you say, sometimes things don't go as smoothly as we would expect, however I feel that what you have experienced is more of an issue with communication that could certainly have been avoided, particularly on your second appointment.

I can also appreciate the extra worry caused when you were given information about your condition without having this explained fully to you before, and I'm sorry this was the case. I would encourage you to talk to your consultant at your next outpatient appointment if you are still worried to get more information, or indeed talk to your GP who will have access to your health records and notes if that would be easier. I would also encourage you to still attend your next appointment, but please let me know if there are any further problems.

I will share your feedback with the General Manager for this service to highlight the issues you have had. If you have anything further you would like to add, or if you would like to share some of your personal information so that I can look into what happened on those specific occasions, then please email me directly on lorna.gray@ggc.scot.nhs.uk.

With best wishes,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful