"Very worrying manner of some staff"

About: Leighton Hospital

I was in a weekend ward with several considerably poorly patients.

The mood was flat and silent.

One patient was given medication to which she was allergic, another was not given her medication, another had her automatic drip recharged - but without attaching it to her.

The floor beneath her bed became more and more moist from the wasted fluid from the drip.

Some staff were very professional, but other staff who were on the ward spent all of their time talking about their social lives - the only sound that was heard in the ward. It was as if the ward had, in large part, been forgotten by them.

I decided - in view of this - that it would be unwise to spend the weekend there, and instead returned home and took an outpatients appointment for the following Monday.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leighton Hospital

I would like to apologise for the experience you have had on one of our wards. What you have described is not at the standard I would expect for care to be delivered. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you so I am able to address these issues directly with the ward involved. Please would you contact me via the customer care team on 01270 612378. Kind regards Alison Barnes, Matron

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful