"Disappointed at bloods clinic!"

About: Queen's Hospital, Burton Upon Trent

I went to get my bloods done at the blood clinic. The bloods nurse called my name when they saw me (I'm Asian) wearing a Hijab (head scarve) they had this frown on their face. When they approached me they did not say hello or give me a welcoming smile, but told me to sit down on the chair, I sat and i started rolling my sleave up, without saying or asking me the nurse just grabbed my arm and banged my arm on the arm rest and started to look for a nerve and started taking my bloods. I suffer with a condition called Fibromyalgia where my body is in chronic pain 24-7 and i was left in alot of pain with the bang they gave me on my arm, I was thinking what just had happened and was in shock!

I stayed calm and looked at the nurse and i said iv got two lots bloods to take out today, they looked up at my face and looked back down on the floor without a reply back! It makes me upset that me being the patient had to make conversation and they who are the staff ignored me.

I'm really upset with the way the staff dealt with me that day , I'm very disappointed and would not like anyone else to experience what I did that day,

I think your staff needs to have training how to deal with different ethnic minorities, diversity & equality training and courses for positive behaviour in a caring environment on how to deal with patients,

Very disappointed Burton Queens Hospital!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Hospital, Burton Upon Trent

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about the Phlebotomy Clinic at Queen’s Hospital Burton. We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience.

We are very sorry that you had such a poor patient experience whilst recently attending the department. We would really like the opportunity to discuss this with you, as your report of your experience on this occasion is not acceptable. However, we would be most grateful if you could contact the Patient Advice Liaison Service (PALS) on 01283 593110.

Kind regards

Pals team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful