"Outpatient clinic chaos"

About: Royal Hospital for Sick Children (Yorkhill)

(as a parent/guardian),

Was at the new children's hospital today for an outpatient clinic with my son. Lovely looking building but completely impractical.

Checked in with very friendly helpful receptionist at outpatients reception, who told us to go through to Clinic Area 2 and let the nurse know we'd arrived. Which we did, but it was a really busy clinic, and it wasn't clear that the (student) nurse I spoke to was attached to the right consultant to know what to do with us. Meanwhile a clump of confused parents had gathered around the desk and were all trying to find out what to do next.

The waiting area looks lovely, bright and airy with interactive things for kids, but there weren't many seats and it was noisy and hot. None of which helped when staff were trying to call people in for their appointments. It was incredibly difficult to hear because sound is lost into the atrium. Staff really need to shout loudly, and it might be helpful to have a visual display that shows names too.

There was a real sense of frustration in the waiting area about a lack of information around waiting times that seemed to be upsetting some parents. Other families were complaining that the letter had stated a 2pm appointment, and were concerned that it had got to 2:45pm with no explanation about what was happening. Families sitting near me were seemingly very upset that it seemed everyone had been invite to attend at the same time (2pm) so couldn't possibly all be seen then. People were getting really upset about this, and rightly so in my opinion.

Our consultation (when it came) was very good. But the experience in the waiting room was really poor, so not a good start!

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear Yarg,

We were very disappointed to hear of your poor experience in the RHC Outpatient Department yesterday. I have noted all you have said in regards to the noise in the area, seating and delays in the appointment. I am very sorry for the obvious inconvenience and upset this has caused.

Your comments have been shared with the Outpatient Manager who will urgently review the concerns you have raised and we will feedback here on any changes we make as a result of your comments.

I also note your kind words regarding the visual presentation, our reception staff and your positive clinical consultation, and would like to thank you for taking the time to record this aspect of your visit.

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

Best wishes,

Coral Brady,

Business and Admin Manager,

Royal Hospital for Children

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful