"Waiting time too long"

About: Royal United Hospital

I have been attending the eye clinic for over 14 years and the clinic has always been very busy. I attended recently and from start to finish we were there for 2 and a half hours! Of that time my consultation lasted no more than 10 minutes. I have to always take someone with me who has to drive as I no longer am able to drive but also after having dilating drops in the eyes it is unsafe to drive or for me to use public transport as vision is extremely blurry and reduced. I feel that waiting times in this clinic are unacceptable. If there is a need for more ophthalmologists than they should be brought in to help cope with the numbers attending this clinic. I am also dissatisfied that information is not passed between the doctors adequately. I always see different doctors and get conflicting information, which is confusing and frustrating. Some of the reception staff can be extremely rude or abrupt, showing their stress that they are under with such a large amount of patients coming through the clinic who possibly are not happy with waiting times.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal United Hospital

We welcome your comments regarding your experience at the RUH as it helps us to identify problems and improve the quality of our service and care. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service provided by the Ophthalmology department. In order for us to investigate your concerns fully we would ask that you provide more detail. Please would you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01225 825656 or via email at ruh-tr.PatientAdviceandLiaisonService@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful