"In patient care and follow up treatment"

About: Inverclyde Royal Hospital / General Surgery

(as a relative),

My hubby was admitted to IRH after a lung cancer diagnosis on the 2/7 for treatment for hypercalcaemia and low sodium. He was discharged the following afternoon with haemophilia influenza to be treated with a course of Amoxicillin. It seems haemophilia influenza is medical code for pneumonia, which is resistant to Amoxicillin so to those in the know it would be no surprise to discover he had to be readmitted on the following Monday after his condition had deteriorated quite significantly.

He spent the next two weeks on ward G South of IRH, where the general attitude of staff we came into contact with to the patients in their care was in the most part abysmal. Patient buzzers were repeatedly ignored and requests by visitors for attendance to patients by the medical staff were also ignored for long periods of time. I, myself had to phone the ward three times on one evening to get medical attention for my husband as his buzzers and shouting for medical assistance were repeatedly ignored. This lack of care and compassion for a man suffering pneumonia and emphysema, both of which are life threatening conditions is disgusting.

It would appear to me that there is a distinct lack of communication between consultants, junior doctors and nursing staff as equipment required for a surgical procedures were not available when they should have been and a blood transfusion my husband was to have was never carried out.

Since his discharge the level of follow up care received has been even worse, something I didn't think possible. Recommendations on discharge notes (follow up ct scan in 2-4 weeks) have not been adhered to, correspondence to his gp has been typed but not sent, iron tablets for anaemia eventually prescribed four weeks after discharge, dietician appointments not made until gp involvement and antibiotics prescribed for eight weeks but IRH changing this to three ( in week 4 of the course).

I wouldn't send a dog to IRH let alone a human being. Needless to say my hubby has requested a referral to another hospital.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lorna Gray, Patient Experience, Public Involvement Project Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dear Gourockgal,

I am so sorry to read about the experience your husband had while in our care - it appears that he has encountered difficulties at all stages, and so I can appreciate that you will both be feeling let down at the moment.

You have given a lot of detail already, and raised some very serious issues which we need to look into, particularly in terms of the communication issues you have highlighted, both between members of staff and between staff and patients. While I have passed this on to the General Manager in charge of this ward, it would also be of great help if you could get in touch with me directly so we can look at how to take this forward with you. My email address is lorna.gray@ggc.scot.nhs.uk.

From what you have written, it looks as though your husband will have further treatment, and you have already said that he is looking into transferring to another hospital. However, I would still hope that we would be able to address some of the issues which you raise so as to reassure you that what you have said has been taken on board, and to help make the rest of you and your husband's journey a more positive one.

I hope to hear from you soon,

Best Wishes,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful