"how disappointed I was"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

first of all I had this serious condition and I couldn't breath or do anything else.i had to call ambulance and gladly they came quite quick however they treated me as something from the bin . They were laughing at me ,making jokes and unhelpful .i had to walk by myself through the stairs to the ambulance with pain and camping. They didn't take my situation very seriously which I'm very disappointed because I had kidney infection and all other medical treatments that required immediate attention . Inside the ambulance they were making jokes, laughing and having fun while driving slowly . Arriving at the hospital I had to wait for about 1hour to get treatment. Everything was just nightmare. No one could understand me, I felt unsafe , lonely and suffering in pain by myself. I could not cope no more. The time that I got discharged they wrote on the note that they prescribed calcichew as one of my medications as this was one of the main reason I had to go to the hospital however when I went back home I didn't find any calcichew . This clearly means that they forgot to put it for some reason. I started having the same symptoms that I had to go to the hospital for again because of miss of calcichew .i couldn't get it anywhere else as it was late. This is not the first time that I have received this kind treatment from NHS service from ambulance to receptions and all staff in general . Very disappointed . Hopefully it will get better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you, Krista, for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience. We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service you received. We aim to offer the highest standards of care in a safe and caring environment and we are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the service you received.

We do not routinely stock the ‘Calcichew’ brand of calcium supplement and so it is possible that you received an alternative brand such as Adcal-D3. If the Calcichew brand was specifically required, we would have needed to order it especially which would have you meant returning to hospital at a later date to collect. We have passed your feedback on to the Head of Pharmacy. We are sorry if this wasn’t clearly explained to you when you were discharged and can only apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you. However we would like to assure you that we have a robust system for checking medication that patients take home to ensure it matches the prescription and discharge letter.

Ambulances in the region are provided by West Midlands Ambulance Service and so we have passed your comments about the crew onto them. However, if you would like to leave feedback for them directly you can do so via this link: https://www.nhs.uk/Services/Trusts/LeaveReview/DefaultView.aspx?id=29242

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read