"waiting list information"

About: King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

I am awaiting a liver cyst fenestration . I have been ill for about 20 months now. After many visits to 2 different hospitals I was eventually referred to kings. I have had various tests etc and finally a pre op assessment . At the appointment I was informed of the risks of the operation and what can go wrong( little worrying) but I need it and I'm now on morphine and desperate. To conclude the nurse said ' you do realise don't you that this is a cancer hospital and those patients have to come first, and that my date can be cancelled as late as when I get to the hospital. I have a 2 hour journey, and I will be on my own. Also I was told that the pre op lasts 3 months and if I haven't had my op by then I will need another, what a waste of NHS money. I understand this, but there will always be a patient with cancer at your hospital needing urgent treatment, so I can't see a time when this will be done. I didn't ask to go to kings , I was sent there, and I'm sorry to take up time that is so obviously meant for more ill patients , but at the end of the day I just want to be well, I'd happily travel anywhere to get myself well. I might add that I have just had my second emergency visit to Maidstone hospital after vomiting blood, and it seems I have a bowel backup due to the meds I am taking for my condition. If kings don't want or are unable to treat people like myself would it not be fairer and kinder to say they can't do it. I am now getting concerned that me condition could worsen into a much more serious state. I see you don't respond to reviews left, I am writing this in the hope that you will read it and make note. Finally to finish, the doctors I have seen so far have been very kind and respectful and would not want to complain about them.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from King's College Hospital (Denmark Hill)

Thank you for taking time to comment on your experience of King's College Hospital and I am sorry that your experience has not been as good as we would have liked.

I sincerely hope that you have now had your operation and that this has helped your condition.

If however, you need some assistance, I would encourage you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service by emailing kch-tr.pals@nhs.net or calling 020 3299 3601.

They are there to help resolve issues for patients who may be having problems with any aspect of our service.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful