"My granddad was in ITU after being ..."

About: Leicester General Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

My granddad was in ITU after being ransferred from Peterborough. We were kept fully informed about his progress and what they were doing. He was taken to theatre twice and both times the nurses were very patient with us when we kept asking for information.

He's now home and doig really well which is all because of the fabulous care he received in ITU and ward 27.

Also, thanks to the nurses on ward 27 who lket us visit outside of visiting hours as tehy knew we were travelling a long way.

What could be improved

The ITU waiting room is awful! And lack of signposting to the ITU complex.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review of ITU and Ward 27 at Leicester General Hospital. We realise a significant amount of time has passed since you posted your comment and we would like to sincerely apologise that we did respond to in a timely manner but would like to reassure you that your comments were passed onto the relevant teams at the time. We have since updated our process of responding to reviews posted on NHS Choices and are now committed to making sure we respond to comments within 21 days of the date they are posted. If you have any other specific questions or comments, please feel free to contact us on communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk. Thank you Communications Team Leicester’s Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful