"Draculas Castle does it again"

About: Croydon University Hospital

I visited the Hospital for a blood test on the 2nd June 2015 I left as usual bruised I am fed up with the poor standard of phlebotomists at Purley and at Mayday I have used St Helier previously for many years and have never had such poor service, to be objective, St Helier have managed to mutilate me on the odd occasion so they too are not perfect, not that anyone in this life can be. The waiting at Purley has improved, at least we are no longer crammed in an unhealthy box, but the system is a lot to be desired many patients give up I guess most are on root to work and ever hopeful for a quick turnover, and it is sometimes left to call the next patient in, added to this other clinics are using the area as a waiting area too so no one knows who is waiting for what! The Phelbotamist I was landed with on the day was virtually uncommunicative and useless to boot, I agree we all would sooner not work but at least put a smile on for heaven sake I am very disappointed at the quality of staff in general some of the staff on reception need a makeover too On a lighter note I had a completely opposite experience in the XRay Department I think that was the same day but I have taken so long to get around to this, the memories have merged They were pleasant efficient job done in next to no time with good humour thrown in.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Croydon University Hospital

Thank you for sending us your message through NHS Choices. We aim to provide a great experience for everyone who uses our services and we are so sorry that you have not had such an experience. We have passed your comment directly onto the service manager, particularly the issues you have raised around your treatment by the phlebotomists and if you wish to be contacted back to discuss these concerns, please contact our Customer Services Team on customerservices@virgincare.co.uk or on 0300 303 9509.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Carol Dale, Lead for Customer Services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful