"Very poor nursing care at the day surgery unit"

About: Alnwick Infirmary

Yesterday my partner came to your day surgery unit within Alnwick hospital for knee surgery. My partner is military so this was the nearest hospital to our home in Middlesbrough. Upon arrival they were made aware of this and informed myself that he would be "a few hours" this was at 07:45. After waiting until 1pm I walked onto the unit twice and no one was around. At 2pm after waiting another hour I walked onto the unit and the receptionist was at the reception area so I enquired about my partner to be told "he won't be ready for another hour yet, he's just sat in the chair." I was turned away from the unit and returned shortly before 3pm, I asked can I see him to be told "no another man is getting changed" (later my partner told me every had been sat ready for about an hour before I could take him home this would be 2pm) so why did this nurse decide to lie to me. I then saw another patients grandparents walking in and out of the Bay Area where my partner was even though I wasn't allowed in. The nurse then approached me passed me the relevant paperwork and pain relief and said do you want to get your car and I'll bring him to the car. The first time I was allowed to see my partner was when he being wheeled towards the car. I said thank you and bye to this same nurse who just ignored me and walked off. I then got to speak to my partner and got quite upset as I finally got to find out he was okay. He then informed me that his surgery wasn't until 11:30am and he was back awake and eating by 1pm. The nurse informed him that they "couldn't find me" my number was given at 07:45 that morning. My partner also informed me the other patients relatives had been with him for an hour. My partner and another patients relatives were not allowed in. My partner said this nurse was blunt and impolite towards himself and other patients too. I myself am a registered nurse and have been qualified for quite a few years. I have had relatives in day surgeries within my hospital trust and another in the past and patients and relatives were treat with a proper duty of care. The relatives could see their loved ones within the unit it wasn't a pick and choose who they will allow today. My partner and I feel we were penalised for being younger and I was referred to as his "young girlfriend" I'm 27 and have been a nurse for 6.5 years not a young immature child like the impression was given. I would like to take this matter further as I feel this nurse needs to have their poor communication skills, lack of duty or care, manners and overall demeaner of the patients and relatives being a hindrance to their day addressed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Alnwick Infirmary

Dear Madam, I have just received notification of your post on NHS Choices. I am responding immediately because your description of care at Alnwick is very concerning indeed. I am very sorry that you have been left so disappointed with the care offered to your partner and that there have been a number of examples of poor communication and involvement from your point of view. I really need to understand more about what exactly happened during your visit to the hospital in order to speak to the staff concerned. Unfortunately, whilst your post remains anonymous, I am not able to do this in the way I would like to. It sounds to me that you would also like to take this further and I would certainly support that decision. Please email me your partners details together with his consent for having this situation investigated as a formal complaint. My address is annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk In the meantime I will share your review with senior members of the team at Alnwick. Thank you very much for bringing your concerns to our attention. It is much appreciated. With best wishes, Annie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful