"Hospital feedback"

My husband is suffering with psychoses for 3 years. Last few months he got worst and I had to keep calling the police and ambulances very often. The home treatment team was coming to visit him and offering the medication, as he didn't accept, they decided bringing him to Goodmeyes. After been there for 2 weeks and not taking any medication(because he still thinks his is fine and doesn't need it), the psychiatrist are sending him back home. They said that he is not violent, have a good behavior, so he is ok. They are giving the choice of taking the medications or not to a person with mental health issue! Of course he is saying "no". It is not about behavior, it is about his health! He doesn't work, he doesn't go to crowd places, he doesn't communicate with others, he can not even go to the supermarket by himself but he is calm, so for the doctors it is enough. I am very unsatisfied with this "treatment" and I completely agree with the reviews I've read before.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Goodmayes Hospital

North East London Foundation Trust responded on 5 October 2015:

I am sorry for the time taken to respond to your review, it has only recently come to our attention that you have not received a response.

I am sorry to hear of your poor experience. I have contacted the Director of Mental Health Inpatients to request that an investigation is carried out to look into the concerns you have raised. As we cannot respond to these serious concerns on an open forum, we would welcome the opportunity to hear from you further and invite you to contact our Complaints Team on 0300 555 1201 ext. 66690 or by email at nelftcomplaints@nelft.nhs.uk at the earliest possible opportunity.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful