"appalled by this hospital ,sent home in pain"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

i am 31 years male ,have had numerous bladder operations and the last one was 90 percent off my bladder being removed,i have been suffereing for the last few weeks ,with stones ,in my bladder ,i have been unable to sleep more than 2-3 hours a night and been in a lot pain ,yesterday my gp refered to get treatment from yourselfs in the hope i would get a littile releif till my consultant could see me on the 12th august as they're on holiday . after been admitted in the surgical lounge and waited almost 6 hours to be put on a ward the only thing that was done was bloods took ,then i was under the impressions when the consultant would come round in the morning i would get a scan to see whats going on ,anyways i was sick at least 5 times in the night ,i had no sleep ,i had pain ,and was overall just very ill ,was really hopeing i would get at least some sort off help when morning came ,but that was not too be ,when a Consultant came in the morning ,they said becuse i am to complicated off a patient they never wanted to give me a camera or scan and tha they would send me home till me consulant was back off holiday ,leaving me again in pain ,lack off sleep and waiting for some dort off help ,i was very unhappy with that ,espically knowing that i would have to wait weeks when i had already had enough pain the last few weeks , i decided to ring me gp see if they could help me ,and despite my gp rinigng up the ward expressing their concerns off me being discharged still in pain with sickness ,nothink was done i was told i was not an emergency and because the morning shift didn't start till after 7 and i was sick before 7am and in pain before 7am ,i had not been sick or in pain today on their watch ,to me a new day begins after 12am so i had been sick and in pain today and was still continuing in pain ,so despite my gp trying to help ,and despite the sickness and pain ,i was discharged mi think its disgusting ,that in this day and age someone can be left without treatment ,for a period off time as my consultant was off on their jolly and no one else could help? how terrible ,i really am unhappy and very shocked at bolton once you was a good hospital but the last few years you have went down hill ,i feel lack off understanding was a big issue after all it was me in pain sho why should anyone go out there way ? if it was a nurse or docotor in my position am sure it would be a different story ,

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

I apologise that you are not happy with the level of care that you have received. I have contacted the Urology Department who are aware of your case and the consultant will be more than happy to speak to you. Please could you contact our PALS team on 01204 390193 who will be able to put you in touch.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful