"The Sandbourne Suite"

About: Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

first every one is told to arrive at the same time and are quing outside the ward doors were locked I had to repeat things several times because of other surgeons I see ,I had Arthroscopic Subacromial Decompression Plus A Rotator Cuff Repair in 2012 However because of the huge waiting times I am still in Pain Having had to have both Shoulders repaired and two operations on both shoulders Which have left me with 50% use of both arms and the Consultant said live with it welll that is not acceptable plus my G P is giving me a hard time about reffering me to a Hospital which should be able to correct it when the Right shoulder was done it bled for ten days and the District Nurse came every day to redress it

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bournemouth General Hospital

Dear Anonymous Thank you for your posting and I am sorry to hear that your experience with us has not been to the high standard we aspire to. You have raised a number of concerns and as such I felt it necessary to forward your comments on to the leads for both the Sandbourne Suite and the Orthopaedic Unit. With regard to your arrival at the Sandbourne Suite, this is done on a staggered basis with a number of patients being asked to arrive at 7.15am. The staff arrive at 7am and endeavour to open the doors as soon as possible thereafter to allow patients into the waiting area. On occasions there are unforeseen changes in the list order and by having more than one patient ready it will ensure theatre time, theatre staff, surgeons and anaesthetists are well utilised. The Orthopaedic Surgeon has asked me to convey the following to you: We endeavour to try and align expectation with likely outcome although this is not always achieved. We therefore need to continue to work with patients to align expectation with likely outcome. It is extremely disappointing that you continue to have pain after shoulder surgery in both shoulders and that the function is limited. Unfortunately not all operations are able to restore full pain relief or full function, this depends on the level of pathology prior to surgery. Bleeding after an operation can occasionally occur through wounds. When patients are discharged from the Sandbourne, they are issued with written information detailing telephone number 01202 726105 up until 9pm. After 9pm. the information advises to contact ward 12 on 01202 704765 when any post-operative problems are assessed. In situations where a patient has a less than ideal outcome, we try very hard to support on-going improvement in symptoms. If this did not happen in your case then we are very sorry. If you would like to be reviewed by the consultant personally then please do contact us and we will arrange an appointment for you. We clearly have not met your expectations and we will do our best to put that right. I apologise again that your experience and outcome did not meet the standard you had hoped for and would certainly recommend that if you have concerns then please call and ask for a further appointment with your consultant to discuss them. Regards Sue Mellor Head of Patient Engagement

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful