"Not sure how to rate Surrey"

About: Royal Surrey County Hospital

I have had extremely good and extremely bad experiences at the Royal Surrey, however the majority were bad I have to say. Your maternity ward and its staff had a lot of catching up to do since I had my first child there and now that I am pregnant with my second it seems to me that nothing has changed in the last 4-5 years. Perhaps there is a problem with the culture of how pregnant women are treated there: i.e. like emotional imbeciles. I don't like the staff automatically calling me "darling" and "sweetheart" and having a knee-jerk reaction of dismissal to my very real concerns. Patronising a woman and telling her that "it's part of pregnancy" without really investigating the problem is the kind of attitude that almost got me killed the first time I had a baby there. I am therefore having my second baby at St Peter's Hospital where the maternity ward is absolutely outstanding. Having had a shoulder operation last year for a sports injury, however unpleasant that was, left me with a deep sense of gratitude for the amazing surgeon who took me seriously the first time they saw me and quickly diagnosed a SLAP tear, rotator cuff tear and a nerve impingement (yes, all three) in my right, dominant, shoulder. They were absolutely brilliant and after being dismissed, again by incompetent staff for the first 1.5 years of going back and forth to the physiotherapy department I am now pain-free again and I am able to use my shoulder to its maximum. Both my husband and his brother-in-law had their tonsils taken out a couple of years ago, though at different times. They both came home with very little after-care provisions and they both developed bad infections following the surgery. Having had my tonsils out some 15 years ago myself in a much poorer country with a lot less funding than what the NHS gets here I was appalled by how little patient after-care goes on at the Royal Surrey. You have great staff but very poor provisions and procedures in place to ensure that the people you send home stay at home and recover with the required medication or attention they need. Quite frankly I am not sure how you received "GOOD" on your CQC report because what I have experienced with you so far is far below good.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Surrey County Hospital

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and highlighting this issue to us. We are sorry that you had a negative experience. I have forwarded your feedback onto the head of maternity. If possible, please can you email us on rsc-tr.communications@nhs.net so that we are able to contact you should we require further information?

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful