"The doctor is fab but the wards are vastly..."

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

I was treated at arrowe park for stage 4 endometriosis. The care I received from the doctor was exemplary although waiting between 1-3 hours at each appointment was not ideal. I cannot fault their approach or professionalism. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for some of the other staff. I witnessed several episodes of unprofessional behaviour by staff during my stay and the nursing staff whilst mostly compassionate and caring were so stretched it was impossible to get pain relief on time, my morphine was often given up to 2 hours late leaving me in agony. If the doctor would go and work somewhere else I would definitely recommend them. Unfortunately I can't say the same for the hospital itself.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the doctor who cared for you. However, we are very sorry that this positive experience was not consistent throughout your care. We are committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however, we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right. We would like to look into your concerns further so that we can identify what happened. To do so, we will need personal details and more information about what happened. However, in the meantime, we can assure you that we have recorded your comments and shared them with senior management for the Gynaecology Department. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please ring the Complaints Department on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Complaints@nhs.net or in writing to Complaints Department, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The Complaints Department can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful